Awards & Honors

2004 Hesburgh Award (TIAA-CREF)

Barnard College won the 2004 Hesburgh Award for Reacting to the Past, its innovative first-year seminar program that has been adopted by scores of colleges nationwide. It was viewed as a national model for excellence in undergraduate teaching by nine judges with highly distinguished backgrounds in higher education who reviewed the entries and unanimously selected Reacting to the Past as the winner.

Established in 1993 by the TIAA-CREF to recognize faculty development programs that enhance undergraduate teaching and learning, the Hesburgh Award is named in honor of Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, president emeritus of the University of Notre Dame. It includes a $30,000 cash prize.

Barnard President Judith Shapiro accepted the award on March 1, 2004 at the annual meeting of the American Council on Education in Miami, Fla., joined by Provost Elizabeth Boylan and Professor Carnes.

"We are truly honored to accept the Hesburgh Award and proud to be recognized for this creative initiative to help our students more fully understand civilizations and peoples far different from their own," said Shapiro, a cultural anthropologist. "It is exactly this kind of breakthrough that can and should do so much to renew our fractured world."  She added: "Through his brilliant and innovative work, Mark Carnes has blazed a new path to help college students engage with classic texts. And the results speak for themselves. Reacting to the Past makes students more sophisticated writers, speakers, and thinkers. Professor Carnes has succeeded beyond our imagining."

"We are proud to honor Barnard College for its innovation in undergraduate teaching and its long tradition of excellence in liberal arts and sciences education for women," said Herbert M. Allison, Jr., Chairman, President and CEO of TIAA-CREF. "Our company's service to higher education affords us the opportunity to recognize the truly innovative work being done on campuses and in classrooms."

(Judges for the Hesburgh Award include: Dr. David Alexander, President Emeritus, Pomona College; Dr. Hans Brisch, Chancellor Emeritus, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education; Dr. K. Patricia Cross, Professor of Higher Education, Emerita, University of California, Berkeley; Dr. Vera King Farris; President Emerita & Distinguished Professor, The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey; Dr. Juliet Garcia, President, University of Texas at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College, Dr. Margaret A. Miller, Professor, Curry School of Education, University of Virginia; Dr. Terry O'Banion, President Emeritus & Senior League Fellow, League for Innovation in the Community College; Dr. Kenneth A. Shaw, Chancellor and President, Syracuse University; Mr. H. Patrick Swygert, President, Howard University.)

2006 William Gilbert Award

On January 6, 2006 the American Historical Association awarded the William Gilbert Award to Mark C. Carnes, Professor of History at Barnard. The Gilbert Award, for the best article on teaching history, was for Carnes's essay, "Inciting Speech," in ChangeThe Magazine of Higher Learning (March/April 2005).

"Website of the Month" Award (HistoryNewsNetwork)

This website was named Website of the Month by the HistoryNewsNetwork at Georgia Mason University, July 2006. Click here to visit the HNN review of the site.