Reacting Consortium Editorial Board

The Reacting Consortium Editorial Board is composed of scholars and teachers from different disciplines and locations around the country.

Nick Proctor

Nick Proctor, Chair of the Reacting Consortium Editorial Board, is a Professor of History at Simpson College. He received his PhD in History from Emory University with an emphasis on the nineteenth-century South. Since joining the faculty at Simpson, he has been awarded Simpson College’s Distinguished Teaching Award and the Faculty Research Award. He is the co-author of several Reacting to the Past games and is the author of the Reacting to the Past Game Designer's Handbook.

J. Patrick Coby

John Patrick Coby is Esther Booth Wiley Professor of Government at Smith College, where he teaches courses in political theory and American political thought.  He has authored numerous books and articles, including two games in the Reacting to the Past Series:  Henry VIII and the Reformation Parliament (Norton); and America's Founding: The Constitutional Convention of 1787 (Norton).  He is the recipient of the Smith College Faculty Teaching Award, the Sherrerd Prize for Distinguished Teaching, and the Board of Trustees Honored Professor Award.

John Eby

John Eby is an Assistant Professor of History at Loras College. His teaching fields include medieval Christianity, medieval history, Celtic history, the Reformation, and Islamic history. He has been heavily involved with Reacting to the Past since 2000, serving on the initial Reacting Board and on the Reacting Consortium Board.

Paula Kay Lazrus

Paula Kay Lazrus is an Associate Professor in the Institute of Core Studies at St. John's Unviersity. She is also an archaeologist. Dr. Lazrus has excavated and conducted field surveys in Rome, Sardinia, and southern Calabria, and she has written about the problems concerning the international trafficking in antiquities, and on settlement and land-use issues in ancient Italy. She is currently president of the local New York Society of the Archaeological Institute of America and has been the chair of the Committee on Ethics for the Society for American Archaeology.  She is co-editor with Alex Barker of All the King's Horses: Essays on the Impact of Looting and the Illicit Antiquities Trade on Our Knowledge of the Past."

Kelly McFall

Kelly McFall is an Associate Professor of History at Newman University, specializing in twentieth century European history and the history of genocide and the Holocaust. At Newman, he also directs the Honors Program and chairs the Division of Humanities. In addition to co-authoring Changing the Game (with Abby Perkiss), McFall is the author of The Needs of Others: Human Rights, International Organizations, and Intervention in Rwanda, 1994.

Ian McNeely

Ian McNeely is a Professor of History and the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education in the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Oregon. He is a specialist in German, European, and world history and the history of knowledge. He is also the author, most recently, of Reinventing Knowledge from Alexandria to the Internet. Professor McNeely teaches the India game and supervises the Reacting curriculum for honors undergraduates at Oregon.

John Moser

John Moser is a Professor of History at Ashland University, where he teaches courses on modern European, American and East Asian history. He did his undergraduate work at Ohio University, and has an M.A. and Ph.D. in history from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He has published numerous works on subjects ranging from comic books to Japanese foreign policy. He is author of three books, the most recent of which is Right Turn: John T. Flynn and the Transformation of American

Bill Offutt

Bill Offutt is a Professor of History and Faculty Advisor of the Pforzheimer Honors College at Pace University. His academic interests focus on the relationship between law and society, particularly the methods by which legal systems obtain and keep their legitimacy. He has taught classes in colonial America, revolutionary America, the Civil War, Constitutional history, and American women’s history. He is the author of RTTP's Patriots, Loyalists, and Revolution in New York City, 1775-1776.

Abigail Perkiss

Abigail Perkiss is an Assistant Professor of History at Kean University. She is broadly trained in U.S. history, twentieth century urban culture, African American history, oral history, public history, and legal history, and her research has been guided by questions of identity creation, community cohesion, and historical memory. Her first book, Making Good Neighbors: Civil Rights, Liberalism, and Integration in Postwar Philadelphia (Cornell, 2014) examines the creation of intentionally integrated neighborhoods in the latter half of the twentieth century. She is currently co-authoring RTTP's Changing the Game with Kelly McFall and Monuments and Memory Making with Kelly McFall and Rebecca Livingstone. 

Mary Jane Treacy

Mary Jane Treacy is a Professor of Spanish and Director of the Honors Program at Simmons College. She wrote Greenwich Village, 1913 after teaching a course on the roots of U.S. Feminism. Finding that the RTTP pedagogy galvanizes student and faculty enthusiasm, she is writing other games for both college and advanced high school courses: Paterson 1913: The Silk Strike and Argentina 1985: Contested Memories.

Jonathan Truitt

Jonathan Truitt is an Associate Professor of Colonial Latin American History and the Director of the Institute for Simulations and Games at Central Michigan University. His research focuses on indigenous people in colonial Mexico City and the use of games in the classroom. He helped start the “Reacting to the Past” Game Development Conference and is currently the outgoing chair of the GDC Committee.

Jace Weaver

Jace Weaver is Director of the INAS, Franklin Professor of Native American Studies and Religion, and Adjunct Professor of Law at the University of Georgia. He holds two doctorates, a J.D. from Columbia Law School of Columbia University and a Ph.D. from Union Theological Seminary in New York. His book,  American Indian Literary Nationalism, written with Robert Warrior, Craig Womack, and Simon Ortiz, won the 2007 Bea Medicine Award for best book in American Indian Studies from the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies and the Native American Literature Symposium. His most recent work is the essay collection Notes from a Miner's Canary. He believes that Native American Studies is by nature two things, comparative and interdisciplinary.